International Chess Federation
Monday, 24 Jun 2024 12:13
Gawain Jones and Elmira Mirzoeva сrowned English Chess Champions

Gawain Jones and Elmira Mirzoeva are the new English Chess Champions, emerging victorious after thrilling tiebreaker battles.

The 2024 English Championship took place in Kenilworth from June 20-23. Both the Open and Women’s competitions were 7-round Swiss tournaments with classical time control.

The open event became a tense race between defending champion Michael Adams, Peter Wells, and Gawain Jones. Although Adams held a half-point lead entering the final round (5.5/6), a draw against Ameet Ghasi opened the door for his competitors. Jones pulled off a crucial victory over Wells on the black side of Ruy Lopez and tied for first place.

According to the tournament regulations, a rapid tiebreaker was played to determine a champion. After winning the first game with black pieces, Jones drew the second one and captured the title.

Final standings Open

The women’s tournament followed a similar script, with Elmira Mirzoeva winning on-demand her final round game to catch up with the defending champion, top seed Katarzyna Toma.

The women’s tiebreaker was a very close affair. Mirzoeva won the first rapid game, but Toma bounced back in the second one, forcing the blitz playoff. There, Elmira prevailed in the first blitz encounter with black pieces and secured the title after drawing the second one.

Final standings Women

Photos: Lennart Ootes and Etery Kublashvili